190 Monroe County middle school students to be honored at FPF induction ceremony on November 4

The Future Physicists of Florida will induct 190 Monroe County middle school students in a ceremony at Marathon Middle/High School on the evening of Friday, November 4.  This will be the second year that Monroe County has held an FPF induction.

There are about 600 8th graders in Monroe County middle schools this year, so the number of students being inducted is close to one-third of the size of a district-wide class.

The scientific speaker for the Monroe County induction will be FSU Physics Professor and astrophysicist Jeremiah Murphy, shown below.  Professor Murphy’s research is described here.


Photo credit:  Panama City News-Herald


FPF inducts students from Tallahassee’s School of Arts and Science, Raa Middle School

Students from two Tallahassee schools – the School of Arts and Science and Raa Middle School – were inducted into the Future Physicists of Florida last Friday on the FSU campus.  FSU Physics Professor Susan Blessing introduced the students to the world of elementary particles during the ceremony.

Julie Sear of the School of Arts and Sciences provided the photos from the ceremony shown below.